Random Metal Musings

Good day all,

As there is not a whole lot going on in the metal world today this post will just be a few metal musings that have been floating around in my head.

First, if the news from The Guantlet is correct, D. Randy Blythe has been released from a Czech prison and will be returning to the US. I still question where Mr. Blythe’s camp has been during all of this, and if you read my stuff you know what I am talking about. Everyone can blame the US government all they want but if Mr. Blythe’s people don’t tell us he is not being assisted by the US government, do we just assume they have abandoned him, an American citizen in Prague? I can’t, at least the US embassy in Prague acknowledged that they were in contact with Mr. Blythe and were aware of the situation, more than we got from Mr. Blythe’s camp. Who knows, maybe we will get more information now that he has been released. We should, fans and supporters literally stopped their lives to support Mr. Blythe, but hey the rest of the band is going to hold an auction to help with legal costs, I guess after their date nights, side projects, and other exploits they have found to fill the time their singer was in jail. http://www.thegauntlet.com/article/525/25938/Randy-Blythe-has-been-released

The Gauntlet had another story that I found very interesting, it was about the cancellation of a show in Michigan that featured the band King, The Contortionists, and Jeff Loomis. Apparently, according to the promoter, the venue and the crowd for King did not get along, which led to a fight and the tour stop being cancelled and the cops showing up and all of the good things that go on when a band has to stop playing. But besides all of the stupidity that ensued there was a reference to “Hate Mosh”. Hate moshing is apparently attacking, by punching and kicking, people who are not participating in the mosh pit. This is the first time I have heard of Hate Mosh and the only thing I can think to say is REALLY!?!?!?!?!? Now I know I am both old and old school, if you read my review of Mayhem Fest you know I moved to the back of the crowd when the moshing started, but if you attacked me because I didn’t participate in the mosh pit? I would have no choice but to hurt you, are you kidding me? What kind of morons consider aggravated assault a proper way to show support to your favorite band? And bands that encourage this should have their heads examined! SERIOUSLY!?!?!?!?!? Who does this? Sometimes I weep for our youth! http://www.thegauntlet.com/article/1225/25934/Tour-Promoter-Responds-To-Accusations-in-KING-And-The-Contortionist-Show

Finally for those of you who missed it I wrote a review of Testament’s new album Dark Roots of the Earth for METAL BUZZ,  I hope you enjoy it, the link to the page is right here: http://metalbuzz.net/site/reviews/testament-dark-roots-of-the-earth/

Also, check out everything that METAL BUZZ has to offer it is a really great website to find new and even old bands you may not have heard of, Ken and company do a really great job of profiling and featuring the lesser knowns. http://metalbuzz.net/site/

Song of the Day: http://youtu.be/aHyVbLMSO7k

Dont forget to follow me on Twitter @Icheavy

Until later, Peace,

Lurch

Leave a Reply

