Metal Musings

Good day all,

Just back from vacation and actually have power in my house after the storms last week that those of us in the DC Metro area had to deal with. A lot has gone on in the past week or so and I am still trying to catch up on some of it but thought I would throw something out there in the meantime. I haven’t yet decided if this post will be a combination of ramblings or about one particular subject, I guess we will see as I continue to write.

On Saturday June 30, 2012, four of my buddies and I journeyed to the Jiffy Lube Live Pavillion in Bristow, VA for the Alice Cooper/Iron Maiden concert. This concert signified a couple of firsts for me, one I had never been to the Jiffy Lube Live Pavillion (worst name for a venue ever!) and two, I have never seen Iron Maiden live. I will say this upfront, it was worth the time, travel, money, and 100 degree temperatures. But before I get into the concert I have to say that I am a bit disappointed in the venue. On their website they give their guidelines for tailgating and while they cite Virginia law in regards to drinking in public as well as public intoxication, it never says anything about not being able to consume alcohol on the premises or in the parking lot. However, when you arrive at the parking lot before the show the signs are out that say no alcohol consumption in the parking lot. What is that all about? I understand that there are laws against public drunkenness and drinking but last time I checked the parking lot wasn’t public property it is private property. How do I know this you ask? Because Live Nation charged me $6.00 a ticket for parking! If that money was going to the state for use of a parking lot that is fine, but as a taxpaying citizen I want to see that in writing. In the long run it is no big deal, we showed up at the venue with only about a half hour to spare before the show started, but it is the principal.

Now on to the show! Alice Cooper opened the show and started right on time at 7:30 that evening. I have seen Alice in concert probably about 10 times or so, he is one of my all time favorite artists and it is very rare that I will miss an opportunity to see him. However, for as great as he and his band sounded I just don’t like seeing Alice as an opener for another band. Co-headliners? Sure, but not as an opening act. Alice’s set and performance is way to intricate and flamboyant to be stripped down to seven songs and quick gags. Sure, he had the guillotine, the Frankenstein, and other props, but it just wasn’t an Alice Cooper show. As I said earlier, he and his band sounded great and they had a mixed bag of songs that I thought was a great mix of staples (I’m Eighteen, Schools Out, No More Mr. Nice Guy, etc… ) as well as songs he doesn’t normally play on tour (Wicked Young Man, Feed My Frankenstein, Brutal Planet). But my suggestion would be, if you get the chance, see Alice Cooper on a headlining tour as he puts on one of the most outrageous and stimulating shows you will ever see.

After a short intermission and set change, Iron Maiden hit the stage with a bang. The set being an ode to the anniversary of the Seventh Son of a Seventh Son album and tour we were transported to a frozen wasteland and Bruce Dickinson’s trademark vocals. Again, as I said before this is my first time seeing Iron Maiden live and I had very high expectations going into this concert. Spoiler Alert: I was not disappointed! The band was perfect and hit all the marks I would expect a band like Iron Maiden to hit. Let’s face it they are a seasoned band who tours a lot, they should have their stuff together, but beyond that their ability to be so powerful and entertaining after all of these years is just amazing. The one thing I will say about the whole concert, and I have read some other reviews that have mentioned the same thing, is that at times it seems as though Bruce was struggling to keep up with the speed of the music and that of course affected his vocals. It wasn’t a major distraction, but it was there and you could hear him struggling just a bit in some of the songs. Going into the concert I knew that the band was going to be playing some of the songs that haven’t been on their playlists for quite some time and some of them I was looking forward to, others not so much. I was really happy that they played the songs off of the Seventh Son album that they did, but I personally could have gone without “Afraid to Shoot Strangers”, but hey, it gave me a chance to hit the bathroom.

All in all though I have to say that I am extremely happy that I was finally able to see Iron Maiden in concert and look forward to seeing them again in the future. If this tour is coming to a venue near you and you have not planned to see it yet, you should. Iron Maiden and Alice Cooper put on a show that was worthy of the trip out to Bristow, VA as well as the price of the ticket. We paid $40.00 for seats in the pavilion and we really got our money’s worth. I would have personally paid twice that much to see these two bands together but luckily I didn’t have to.

A couple other notes about the concert: I have to give the crew at Jiffy Lube Live props for their professionalism and knowledge. The heat was crazy that day with temperatures in the triple digits and I saw a few people fall out because of the heat, and the staff was there and attending to the people quickly and appropriately and security did a fine job of keeping order throughout the day. I also want to send a big shout out to all of my fellow metalheads that were at the concert with us, again with the heat and the alcohol I only saw one real idiot being arrested and that was after the concert in the parking lot, it seems he wouldn’t listen to the real police, so he got what he deserved. But inside, with the long bathroom lines, and crowds all I saw was a lot of people respecting their fellow metalheads and that was really cool to see. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, especially because of the median age of the concert goers, I felt young! So to reiterate, GO SEE THIS SHOW!

THE RANDY BLYTHE SAGA CONTINUES:

Reading via The Gauntlet http://www.thegauntlet.com/article/525/25709/Prosecutor-Files-Complaint-To-Reject-Bail-In-Randy-Blythe-Case this morning that the prosecutor in  Prague is trying to get Randy’s bail revoked. Now I don’t know what kind of evidence they have for this and the Guantlet article doesn’t specify, but this is really getting ridiculous. As I said on a previous post the United States government really needs to step in and make the officials in Prague show what they have to hold Randy for this long. First it was because the banks weren’t opened, but now they have the bail money and he is still sitting in a jail cell. Something has to be done and I urge all of you metal fans to start calling your congress representatives and senators and introduce them to the name Randy Blythe. Additionally, I urge you to contact your local television and radio stations and do the same. Let your voices be heard that an American citizen is being held by a foreign government after following the process in which they created. #FREErandyblythe

One last thing, besides following my buddy at http://metalbuzz.net/site/ The Gauntlet has really done a fantastic job following the Randy Blythe story, take a look back at their story archives and you will see what I mean.

Please feel free to follow me on Twitter at @ICHeavy, also follow Metalbuzz at @Metalbuzz .

Song of the Day in solidarity to our incarcerated metal brother: http://youtu.be/QWkhCxCcWSE

Until later, Peace,

Lurch

One thought on “Metal Musings

  1. Glad to hear you liked the show. I saw them at that venue for the first time two years ago. Did you happen to have any sound issues? It seemed like Cooper was perfect, but Maiden wasn’t as crisp. They all sounded great, but it seemed like the music wasn’t mixed right. Maybe it was me. Great show though. Would love to see them again. Great review by the way and yes, Alice is now on my list of must see concerts.

Leave a Reply

