Those who can do, those who can’t write about those who can!

Good day all,

Full confession, I do not have an artistic bone in my body! Why, you might ask, would I tell you this? Simple, I am completely in awe of people who can write and create music. I find people who have this ability to be amazing. It might be because I do not understand the song writing process, although I have to assume that it is different for every songwriter, but someone’s ability to make music just astounds me. In the case of this post it is not just heavy metal either but all music and all songwriters, the Bruce Sprigsteens, the Gordon Lightfoots, the Jim Croces, the Alice Coopers, the King Diamonds, and so on and so on.

Think about it for a minute, how many times have you heard a song and it just made your life that much better? Seriously! You have all experienced listening to a song for the first time and it just does something to you that makes you want to listen to it over and over again and add something to your life. I wish I wielded that kind of power, to be able to affect millions of people instantly with something that I have created. It is hard for me to pick a specific song that would touch everybody because we all have our different tastes in music, but think of that song that when you hear it you automatically get a specific feeling in your body, or your heart and it has an impact on your mood, or your overall outlook for your day. Your foot starts to tap a little bit, then your body starts to move ever so slightly, then the next thing you know you are singing out loud and don’t even realize it, that is the power of a great song, and someone had the talent and ability to write that song. For my wife it is Springsteen’s Thunder Road, she just can’t help herself, sings it like she is on stage at a stadium, love her for that!

But it just amazes me that there are people who have this talent and put it on display for us every day. I know as a heavy metal fan that a lot of people do not believe that there is much talent in the metal world, but that is irrelevant in this context. There are plenty of metal songs that move people and make their days better and more bearable; it is just a little different than a Gordon Lightfoot tune. But heavy metal songwriters write for their audience and we as fans appreciate them for it, as well as their talent. As I said before, I have zero ability to do what they do, sure I can play Smoke on the Water on a multitude of different instruments, but I can’t tell a story like King Diamond can through song. Don’t even get me started on bands that write 20 minute opuses, I have no idea where the ability to track something like that comes from and to make it cohesive and enjoyable, WOW!

As the father of a 3-year old I do not plan on pushing my son in any direction that he does not want to go, and I will support him in his pursuit of anything he wants, but yes I secretly want him to be a songwriter and write the newest Great American Song. It doesn’t have to be metal, but I would prefer it not have auto-tune either! Songwriters have a talent and ability to change our outlooks on a day and in some cases our outlook on life. I salute all who have this ability and encourage them to continue in the pursuit of their musical dreams. If not for the likes of Robert Johnson, Andre Segovia, Stevie Wonder, The Beatles, Judas Priest, Jewel, Van Halen, Michael Jackson, Kris Kristofferson, Neil Diamond, Elton John, Slayer, our lives would be pretty bland.

Song of the Day (A more metal cover, but seek out the original, it may change your life): http://youtu.be/ELf3vePl-vo

Ah, screw it, here is the original: http://youtu.be/B0t66xvMdH0  By the way, a song that has stuck with me since I first heard it in the mid to late 70s, haunting and poignant.

Until Later, Peace,

Lurch

3 thoughts on “Those who can do, those who can’t write about those who can!

  1. Very nice post. I had no idea this cover existed. I’ve always loved the original, now I have this one to listen to.

    I agree with what you said above. As a writer I would love to write something that millions loved and adored. It boggles my mind to think of writers like Stephen King who just make it so effortless.

    On the music side, I’ve always wanted to play bass. I watch the greats and it just makes me wonder, how?

    • atothewr,
      Glad you liked the post, I am just like you, I have a bass guitar sitting in my living room and as long as I just have to play the top two strings I am a monster! Just don’t plug it in to an amp or anything!

      • At least you play. I haven’t gotten around to it yet, but I would love to thump out the bass like Cliff Burton or Steve Harris.

Leave a Reply

