SteEPed in Tradition

Good day all,

There was news yesterday that Slayer may release an EP of new music to hold fans over until their new full length album is released. Some reports have the new full length album release being as early as this summer, which would be great! It seems a little odd to me that Slayer would release an EP but I guess you have to do what you have to do in the recording business today. I was never a big fan of the EP when I was growing up on music, it always seemed like a rip-off to me. You want me to spend $5 or $6 on an EP and then $9 on a full length album a couple of months later? Never sat well with me and I avoided EPs for that reason alone.

Now however I don’t know if it even matters anymore. Even though I get all of my music through the internet and MP3s I still buy or download an entire album. Having the whole album is important to me, if I like one song from an artist and download that one song, I can’t really say that I am a fan of the artist, just that song. If I have the whole album I can give an educated opinion on my feelings for an artist and their art. That is important to me, I want to be able to listen to an artist and say, man, that is not something I want to have or keep, or continue to listen to. Case in point, I have given Meshuggah’s new album a full listen and just can’t get into it, but at least I tried, and at least I gave the whole album a chance. Now, the same can be said for me and the new Van Halen album, but in this case there are some tracks that I find to be excellent (Big River, China Town) and some songs that are just awful (Tattoo, Bullethead), so what did I do? I created my on little Van Halen EP and left out the songs that I didn’t like.

So, that brings me to my point, in the day and age of music downloads does it really matter if bands put out an EP or a full length album? Would we as fans be happier if artists put out music more frequently in the form of an EP or wait until they have a full length album to release? Should an EP be that very special piece of art that allows for special material that the artist wouldn’t necessarily put out as their normal music? Is their anyone that is happier downloading because you don’t have to buy the full length album and can just download the songs you want?

Tell me what you think about EPs versus full length albums.

Song of the day (which I neglected on Wednesday): http://youtu.be/2lY2J4KUDAs

Until later, Peace,

Lurch

One thought on “SteEPed in Tradition

  1. Thumbs up for either.

    EP’s are a nice way for fans to get a little bit more music from their favorite artist.

    I still prefer full length albums to downloading individual songs,

Leave a Reply

