Cacophony of Metal

Good day all,

Let me say this first even though it is obvious and everyone already knows; I love Heavy Metal, all kinds of Heavy Metal, from “Hair” to “Technical Black” and all genres in between. O.K. maybe not nu-metal, but everyone understands that. So now that I have gotten that out of the way here is my question, don’t you think that sometimes, some bands just try to put to many sound in their music that it becomes unlistenable, or at least unenjoyable? Case in point, the Devin Townsend Project, I have tried, but there is just to much going on. There is the screaming, the banging, the weird instruments, the spoken voice, the crashing, the singing, the normal instruments, the over-bearing synthesizer, and the sampling. I mean geez! How much noise should one brain be able to decipher. I know a lot of people like Devin Townsend Project, hence why he can put out a box set of his work, but it just sound like a cacophony of noise to me.

There are other bands besides DTP that do this as well, most of them in the progressive side of metal, or even some goth and industrial music. This is one of the reasons I couldn’t listen to industrial when I was younger. Ministry did some great things with music, but sometimes it was hard to listen to because I didn’t know what to listen to. Another great example in mainstream metal is Cradle of Filth, I know I could get crucified for saying this, but if you try to listen to Cradle of Filth through headphones, there is so much going on with the music that your brain may explode. My suggestion is try not to listen to them through headphones if you like your brain in one piece. I like some songs of all of these bands I just mentioned, but overall if I can’t listen to a whole album then it is not worth my time. I know I am not the only person that feels this way, so tell me what bands you think fall into this category? I am not trying to band bash but I find this interesting and want to know what you think. Is it Meshugga, Gojira, Children of Bodom or any other band? Hell, it could even be a hair metal band like Queensryche! Let me know what you think in the comments.

I stumbled upon a review of GnR’s performance in a club in New York City on Noisecreep. Surprise, Axl was late again! According to the reviewer the show didn’t start until 1 AM and ended a little after 3 AM. Hope the people who attended the show had the next day off of work. Once again, Axle could care less about his audience and fans; it surprises me that people would shell out $85 a ticket to be disrespected by Axl. That is the exact reason I would not buy tickets to the show at the Fillmore in Silver Spring, MD. I do not trust Axl to be on time, plus the risk that he gets upset at someone and ends the show early. Anyway, here is the link to the review: http://www.noisecreep.com/2012/02/16/guns-n-roses-the-ritz-nyc/

Also, I had previously mentioned that there aren’t enough festivals in the US but with the addition of Metallica’s Orion Music + more festival there are a few to see this summer. Once again the M3 Rock Festival will be held in Maryland, The New England Hardcore festival is this summer, Mayhem Festival and the lineup for Rocklahoma has been announced, not to mention the Maryland Deathfest in May. So maybe I was wrong, maybe there are enough festivals and I have not been paying enough attention! Anyway here is a link to Rocklahoma: http://www.noisecreep.com/2012/02/16/rocklahoma-2012/  and here is a link to Maryland Deathfest: http://www.marylanddeathfest.com/news.html

Song of the day to start the weekend: http://youtu.be/ZdFb0_Dr4DM

Until Later, Peace,

Lurch

One thought on “Cacophony of Metal

Leave a Reply

