Van Halen “A Different Kind of Truth” Review

I finally got the chance to sit down and listen to the complete new album from Van Halen, A Different Kind of Truth. Like most I had heard Tattoo as well as Bullethead and truth be told after listening to those two songs I wasn’t really in a rush to hear this album. I will now admit that I am pleasently surprised with the product that David, Eddie, Alex, and Wolfgang produced. The biggest problem I have with this album is that there is a very bold line of what really works on this album and what doesn’t and the two songs mentioned above are two things that do not work. That being said there is still some really great music on this album. If it had been up to me I would have opened the album with Big River instead of Tattoo. Big River is a powerful song with the unmatched awesomeness of Eddie’s guitar work and the tempo and power of this song make it a great single. The four songs in between Tattoo and Bullethead are strong from start to finish, they are mainly rockers and show off the already known skill of Eddie and the common, but still awesome drum work of Alex. As I have said earlier I could live without Tattoo and Bullethead and I especially could live without Stay Frosty, they have already recorded Ice Cream Man, and all Stay Frosty is, is an almost carbon copy of that song. All in all this is a pretty good album for a band that hasn’t released anything since Gary Cherone was the lead singer, would I trade Diver Down or Women and Children First for A Different Kind of Truth? No! But Van Halen has put out an album that shows they still have what it takes, even if they are card-carrying members of AARP (of BSA in Wolfgang’s case). Let me know what you think in the comments.

The only video available is Tattoo, so for those of you who haven’t seen it: http://youtu.be/3WfQ-hV3WtA

Later,

Lurch

Leave a Reply

