Randoms for 02/02/12

Happy Groundhog Day Everyone!

So, it is the beginning of a new month and an opportunity to look back at January’s music releases and what I consider to be the best of the past month, and I’ve got nothing. Primal Fear and Lamb of God put out good albums but not great albums and if I had to make a list for last month they would be on it, but only because nothing better came out. In essence January was a pretty blah month for heavy metal. I am sure there are some albums I missed but overall you have to agree, pretty blah.

On to other things, I was thinking about the concerts that I know about right now that I would like to go see. I have already decided to go to Mayhem Festival in Pittsburgh with my boys in the ‘burgh and am looking forward to seeing Anthrax and Slayer again and Whitechapel and High on Fire are also playing the second stage so it will be cool to see these bands live for the first time. It should be a blast! I also plan on seeing Sabaton at Empire http://www.empire-nova.com/, (formerly Jaxx in Springfield VA) and I am really looking forward to seeing them as well. I missed them the last time they were in town supporting Accept on the Blood of the Nations tour. I was really bummed about that because as I have said in earlier posts I think that Accept album is one of the best albums of the decade. Guns N Roses is coming to the Fillmore in Silver Spring MD, but I cannot see spending $85.00 on tickets, I mean it’s really Axle Rose and a back up band right?  I would love to see Gigantour but they are not stopping anywhere close to me. Someday I will see Volbeat!

So who are you looking forward to seeing this summer, or even sooner? If you get the chance to see the Anthrax, Testament, Death Angel tour I would highly recommend it. All of these bands still have it going on, even after all of these years. Also, tell me what you thought were the best metal albums in January, maybe I will be able to find something new.

This just in Via Metal Underground, Kreator reveals that their new album entitled “Phantom Antichrist”  will be released on June 5, 2012 (North America) through Nuclear Blast Records. More details and the cover art can be seen here: http://www.metalunderground.com/news/details.cfm?newsid=76848 

By the way, six more weeks of summer according to Punxsutawney Phil! Damn Rodent!

Peace,

Lurch

Leave a Reply

