Randoms for 01/31/12

Good day all,

I just want to know, do you work with music or without? My wife and I were having this discussion the other day. She can’t work with any type of distraction and I am just the opposite. I have written 30 page thesis’ with metal blaring and the TV on, I must have noise. Of course it does help to drown out the voices and ringing in my head. Does anybody have to work like me? I write for a living (at my real job, not here, I am not sure what I do here could be considered writing) but I must have music on. I mean I am constantly listening to my MP3 player in my office, I have an office mate so I must have it on so low it is at times, hard to hear, but it is something.

I was recently reading an interview with Tommy Lee of Motley Crue fame and he was discussing how he would be happy if they never put out a full length album again, but just put out songs. His theory behind this is that people do not buy albums anymore, they by a song at a time. I think that is ridiculous but I understand where he is coming from. I personally always have to have the album, I think there is a synchronicity there that helps me enjoy all of the music more. But the advent of MP3s and places like Itunes allow for people to build playlists of different songs as opposed to buying an album. I go through Rhapsody (I miss you Napster) and pay a monthly fee to basically rent music, but it gives me the ability to experiment more without wasting my money. Long live the full length album.

A couple of quick links to finish up the day (have to pick the boy up from daycare):

It seems that Opeth, Mastadon, and Ghost are touring together (weird lineup, right?) here is a link with dates http://social.entertainment.msn.com/music/blogs/headbang-blogpost.aspx?post=bf96ef8b-0437-48db-9ffc-4787ff6eaf4e

Heavy Uber Alles top six is up http://heavyuberalles.wordpress.com/ check it out!

Song of the day: http://youtu.be/OdngW3qMMco 

tomorrow some more links and blabbering from me!

Peace,

Lurch

Leave a Reply

